How to Archive in Rest Professional
A step by step guide to archiving Tenant, Property & Owner Details in Rest.
If you are archiving all three master files (i.e. the tenant property and owner cards) it is important that you ensure you archive in the following order:
NOTE: It is important to be aware that if there is any transactions in the current period. You will be required to wait until after end of month / files update process before you can archive/.
Archiving the Tenant Card
Ensure that you have dealt with any arrears, outstanding invoices or overpaid rents prior to archiving, however Rest will allow you to archive with arrears, invoices or overpaid rent.
Go to Files > Tenant and select the tenant that is to be archived. If the tenant is vacating the property ensure that you have entered the vacate date (If Applicable)
In the example of a lost management where you will be archiving all three master files (i.e. tenant, property and owner) a vacate date is not required.
Click on ACTIVE up the top right hand corner of the screen. Using the drop down menu, change the status from Active to Archived and press OK to save the changes. This will turn the tenant status to Archived which will automatically be highlighted in Red. Press OK F12 to save all changes on the tenant card and the tenant will now be filed as Archived and no longer available to view as an active tenant.
You will then get a “change of activity status” screen come up. If you have arrears or invoices it will remind you at this point and ask if you want to archive anyway. If you have not set a vacate date it will also remind you of this. If there is no outstanding invoices or arrears you will receive the following message:
Archiving the Property Card
Ensure that any outstanding property maintenance has been completed and deleted out of Property Maintenance prior to commencement and that there is no outstanding disbursements against the property.
Go to Files > Property and select the Property that is to be archived.
Click on the Active Button at the top Right hand Corner of the screen which will direct you to the Gained/Lost Tab in the Property Card.
NOTE: Version 10.5.03 Management Gained/Lost Date is located on the General Tab
You can then change the drop down box to Archived and then you will need to enter all the “Lost” details in this card for reporting purposes before it will allow archiving the Property.
You may receive a prompt in regard to the Key Number still being assigned to this property. You can select yes or no to this instruction.
Once this is completed you can successfully archive the property.
Archiving the Owner Card
For any split owners ensure the split has been removed and for anyone using clearing statements (if applicable) that a zero balance statement has been printed and cleared for your owner.
Go to Files > Owner and select the Owner that is to be archived.
Click on ACTIVE up the top right hand corner of the screen. Using the drop down menu, change the status from Active to Archived and press OK to save the changes. This will turn the owner status to Archived which will automatically be highlighted in Red. Press OK F12 to save all changes on the Owner card and the owner will now be filed as Archived and no longer available to view as an active Owner.
Common Errors when Archiving in Rest
- Active Transactions - Active Transactions refers to ANY transactions that have occurred in the current accounting month. Rest will not allow you to archive or make any alterations if this is the case. The only solution to this problem is to wait until End of Month has been completed and the Files Update completely successfully and then the archive will process successfully. Cancelling a transaction will not overcome this as a cancelled transaction is also a transaction.
- Active Property Maintenance Jobs - Make sure all the current Property Maintenance jobs are deleted in the System otherwise you will not be permitted to archive the property with Active Maintenance Jobs. This can be done by going into the Property Maintenance details in Rest and marking the job as completed, then proceeding to deleting from property maintenance.
You will also get this message if you have a job marked as completed (which doesn’t show up current jobs). To check if there is any jobs completed out of property but not yet deleted go to Files > Property Maintenance. Put in the Property alpha index and press enter. Then click on Property F9 This will bring up all existing jobs together with completed jobs not yet deleted.
Select the completed job and then proceed to delete out of Property Maintenance by choosing Add to diary and delete the job