How to Reduce Time Audit Backups Take in Rest Professional

Overview

The Audit backup process at End of Month can be a lengthy process in some cases as Rest defaults to backing up your Data, History, Property images, Word Merge Documents and your Managed Documents.

This document will cover:

  • How to Change your Audit Backup Settings – by de-selecting to backup Images, documents and Managed documents this will reduce the time the audit backup takes

  • How to Backup Images, Documents and Managed Documents separately or at a later date

How to Change your Audit Backup Settings

By removing the Images,  Word Merge Documents and Managed documents,  the time it take to backup will be reduced as well as any issues with the size of the backups may be overcome. 

 NOTE: If you are in the middle of the End of Month Wizard – up to the audit backup step, you can exit out of the wizard and go in and change the settings for what will be backed up.

  1. Go to Files > Archive > Backup or click on the icon   select Backup and then click OK

  1. Click Next

  2. Select Audit Backup and click on Next

  1. De-select as required i.e. ‘Images’, ‘Word Merge Documents’ and ‘Managed Documents’, and click Save settings at the bottom left of the screen

  1. A message box will appear advising that the settings have been changed for this workstation only, click ‘Yes’ to continue

NOTE: If you were in the End of Month Wizard and escaped out of the wizard to change the backup settings, you can now exit out of the backup settings and go back to the EOM wizard and complete the audit backup as part of the wizard steps.

If you do not use the EOM wizard and are completing the steps manually continue on as follows:


  1. Ensure the backup is going to be written to the correct location.If this is not the correct location, click on ‘change’ and browse to the correct location.Once confirmed, press ‘finish’.

  1. A second prompt will appear confirming the location of where the backup will be saved. Click ‘Backup’ to continue.

  1. Click on ‘Yes’ to run an automatic system recovery

How to Backup Images, Word Documents and Managed Documents separately or at a later date

We highly recommend the remaining backups that were not previously completed are backed up as soon as practicable.  This may be straight after Files Update, the following day, or at another suitable time.

  1. Go to Files > Archive > Backup or click on the icon  select Backup and then click OK

  1. Click Next
  2. Select the type of backup you wish to process i.e. Images, Word merge documents or Managed documents, (these will need to be selected individually) then press ‘next’ to continue

  1. Ensure the backup is going to be written to the correct location. If this is not the correct location, click on ‘browse'’ and browse to the correct location.Once confirmed, press ‘finish’

  1. Click on ‘Backup’ to complete the Process